How to set up Auto Responses

Auto responses are text messages that can be configured to send automatically whenever any of the following actions happen:

  • Someone calls for the first time
  • Someone texts for the first time
  • Someone contacts outside of business hours

Setting up auto-responses

Someone calls or texts for the first time

In the main Avochato panel go to “Settings” > “Auto Responses” (under “Texting Automation”). Activate either of the following options to send a text message the first time someone calls or texts you.

  • Auto-Reply to Incoming Phone Calls
  • Auto-Reply to Incoming Text Messages

Write the text message in the fields under “Automatically respond with:”
If the switch on the right side of the screen is green, this option is enabled.

If you would like an auto-response to be sent to contacts that already have conversations with your number, scroll down and activate [“Enable Triggering Auto-Replies After Inactivity.”]

Someone calls or texts outside of business hours

Activate this option when someone sends a message or calls outside of your office hours.

Auto-Reply when you are out of the Office
If the switch on the right side of the screen is green, this option is enabled.

Additional options

Enable Triggering Auto-Replies After Inactivity

Activate this option to send responses to contacts that already have conversations with your number. After activating the switch, set the number of hours that should pass. The number of hours is since the last message or call sent or received with this contact.

Auto-response Time Delay

Add a time delay in an amount of seconds if you would like a time window to edit or cancel messages before they are sent. 

Always Send an Additional Automated Opt-Out Message

Activate this option to automatically send a message to contacts with instructions for opting out of messages from you. Learn more about opting out and texting best practices [here].

If this option is activated, the next option below will be available: “Prevent Sending Opt-Out messages for your Team’s Organic Messages.” Activate this option to prevent opt-out messages from being sent if you initiate a conversation individually (rather than through a broadcast message).

Was this post helpful?

Close Menu